Thursday, July 7, 2011

Re-Posted from "Harriet the blog", the blog of the poetry foundation

NYFA Award Winners Announced
By Harriet Staff
The New York Foundation for the Arts (NYFA), “the nation’s largest provider of funding, information and services to individual artists,” has awarded 115 NYFA Fellowships to 118 New York artists representing eight artistic disciplines. Today, they’ve finally announced their 2011 NYFA Fellows in Poetry! Awardees receive an unrestricted cash grant of $7,000 in support of their poetry work in New York State. Recipients, finalists and panelists below. The entire group of winners, which include practitioners in Crafts/Sculpture, Digital/Electronic Arts, Nonfiction Literature, and Printmaking/Drawing/Book Arts, can be read here. Congratulations to all!

Desirée Alvarez (New York)
Ari Banias (Kings) – Gregory Millard Fellow
Jose Beduya (Tompkins)
Cara Benson (Rensselaer)
Michael Burkard (Onondaga)
Ken Chen (Kings)
Barbara Cole (Erie)
Susan Deer Cloud (Broome)
Robert Fitterman (New York)
Tonya Foster (Kings)
Rigoberto Gonzalez (Queens)
James Hall (St. Lawrence)
Brenda Iijima (Kings)
Garrett Kalleberg (Suffolk)
Amy Lawless (Kings)
Ricardo Maldonado (New York)
Ryan Murphy (Dutchess)
Jacob Rakovan (Monroe)
Wendy Walters (Kings)
* Wendy Walters was also nominated in Nonfiction Literature.
Finalists: Poetry
Urayoan Noel (Bronx)
Stacy Szymaszek (Kings)

Panelists: Poetry
Jennifer Hayashida (Kings)
Anna Moschovakis (Delaware)
Willie Perdomo (New York)
Claudia M. Stanek (Monroe)
Paige Taggart (Kings)